The Source of My Venom

Image

A bit about the author and where my personal politics/beliefs come from:

What you’ll find from my personal politics is that I am a libertarian with a little ‘l’ (which by definition isn’t really even a party) and thus, a Jeffersonian in my political philosophy. It goes without saying I’m conservative, but I am an open-minded, truly ‘big tent’ conservative that would appear to be a moderate by some definitions. Like Jefferson, I am overly idealistic (almost to a fault) but I will fall on my sword of principle and point to our American values and source documents like the Constitution and ask ‘is this the intent behind this in the best interests of the country or a special interest’. On the corollary, I then also ask ‘is this consistent in the purpose of how our republic was founded’. Case in point – abortion. I am personally pro-life. However, I respect that this is not a gray area legally with Roe v. Wade (Even though I disagree with it) and its is certainly a personal decision when it boils down to it. So, taking my libertarian stance, as long as you are not forcing my wife to have an abortion when she doesn’t want one…why do you care what the woman/family beside you do with such a personal choice? Sure, you think they are going to hell – but that is your opinion, it might not be theirs. They are not pushing their value system of being agnostic or unitarian or atheist on you…why then would you push your Christian-right faith on them? You can’t have such a double standard in a society that says that protects its citizens from religious persecution, says abortions are legal, AND values liberty. Those 3 points are not relative. They are absolutes in this nation. Thus the issue of abortion falls into both of those quoted questions in italics above and is why I take the stance I do. My stance may not be popular with many on ‘the right’ where potential supporters would fall and may brand me as a moderate…and make me un-electable should I ever run for office HOWEVER, what I have done is definitively tell you my stance and why, and I stick by it. That is the exact opposite of how most politicians operate and should be far more valued, but it’s not and that is why such a stance is probably unelectable.

The problem with my overall political stance is that it creates a lot of personal heart-ache because my political leanings and philosophy are so foreign to how our country is run. It’s also why I think I am right and why I have no faith in our politicians because I think they’re going about it all wrong – it also leads me to think dimly of our citizenry’s concept of sovereignty and personal involvement in our republic – i.e. they don’t have it and it’s not important to them. Voting the same set/type of charlatan politicians over again and again and then wondering why our country is going to pot is a perfect example. We are getting what we are paying for…would you rather have someone who you know has integrity and may not represent you perfectly, but also doesn’t insult your intelligence and only tells you what you want to hear irrespective of the larger interests of the nation and what it stands for. Unfortunately, people key much more in on their own narrow personal interests and throw the larger picture out. The governance of our nation should not be boiled down to single issue politics no matter how passionately one feels about any given subject. If we didn’t do that as a nation, I believe we could get better people to run for office because they would think they had a chance to win without violating their personal code by having to sell out to win.

Thus, I get so worked up because I disagree fundamentally with how our country is being run. Its being run into the ground with this Republican vs. Democrat fued that is more about party identity and political point scoring than by actual governance. Its also why everyone knows that Congress sucks – obstructionism to the other party is no way to run any government, especially the most important one in the world. Remember, politics is supposed to be about the art of compromise. I think that has been by and large lost in the halls of our nation’s leadership. Instead, we have politics and campaigns that are fueled by sound bites on TV ads and big money donors via shadowy super PACs. I also disagree with the Hamiltonian philosophy that feeds this mindset of ever more centralized and elite control of government. I don’t think corporatocracy and elitism that is what makes America great or competitive…but changing that would mean the current system with those in power at the top would have to abdicate that power voluntarily. Why would they do so when the masses sheepishly vote the same type of politician into office again and again? They are getting away with it election cycle after election cycle with people’s response being to flip flop between two flawed parties. Thus my frustration. The root-issues of the underpinnings of our democracy and its governance are not even on the table to be talked about. Everyone has accepted the broken status quo!

My beef isn’t with any political view/belief. that is way too narrow, this country is way to diverse its in makeup and geography to think that my narrow political views have all the answers. Contrary to what is displayed in DC, one can have passionate beliefs about one topic and then respect someone who has a vastly different opinion than me as long as we both can agree to disagree – we are all still Americans and unless you are a radical, you probably agree with me in general broad strokes on 60 – 80% of things – its just how we get there is different. i.e. – I agree that health care should be accessible and affordable to all Americans, lets talk about how we get there in ways that get to the bottom of why medical care costs so much and is so inefficient and not spout differing party platforms. That’s not good governance or even intelligent reasoning. Nothing I say in theory is un-American or contrary to our basic tenants of life-liberty-and pursuit of happiness that by and large, frame the American dream. It’s just how I go about it isn’t how its done in DC is vastly different than how it could be. I may think it’s the right way, but not enough people actually take a step back and go…why is government so ineffective?

It’s not the debate of abortion vs.right to life or guns vs. guns control, or any other devisive political issue in the country that pits Repub vs. Dem, its how the politics and the media and the voters and the gridlock all combine into our country knowingly wasting time and money while we slowly watch the country I love so much being run into the ditch when it is perfectly preventable. That is why this snake has so much venom.

2 Responses to The Source of My Venom

  1. Interesting read, always look forward to your posts. Indeed, as a foreigner still, I think “these romans are crazy”.

    Crazy polarization… almost like football fans really.

    • gadsdensnake says:

      Thanks – I need to post far more often, but with shorter articles. What’s amazing to me is that people accept this gridlock and polarization as status quo…like we are powerless to change it. That is so ironic in a democracy. If people were students of history, they would see startling parallels to the beginning of the end of the Roman Empire…so your comment about crazy Romans is certainly not lost on me.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

